Advice for career changer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SojournerProof

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm looking to transition to a career in medicine and I'd appreciate some advice in helping formulate a game plan.

I got my bachelor's in 2015 in Math, Statistics, and Economics. I got AP credits for two semesters of intro biology, general chemistry, and physics (all credits include lab) and one semester of english and psychology. I didn't take organic chemistry or biochemistry, and I took five philosophy classes, including ethics.

In terms of pre-reqs I obviously need to knock out organic chemistry. Does anyone recommend that I retake the other intro classes? I'm not sure if adcoms will look at my application negatively if I'm non-traditional and using AP credits for so much of the pre-reqs.

As a follow on, would it be worth it to consider a formal post-bac or master's program? Not sure if those are worth the cost.

Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

You have to take all of the AP pre-reqs as med schools won't accept those. I can't think of any program that would allow you to substitute actual coursework with AP credits. Buy the MSAR to make sure.

If you have a very strong academic history and have money to spare, you should look into well-established post-bacc programs with linkages like the Bryn Mawr post-bacc program. If you don't have the money, you can DIY the pre-reqs at any accredited institution, including CC.