Advice for getting accepted to an MSW without much experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

An Idealist

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm majoring in Classical studies and anthropology, but I'm interested in social work with a clinical focus, particularly in medical social work and working with the disabled and elderly. I've only recently started thinking about social work as a career, but I do have informal experience with the environment; a close family member had a chronic illness and spent the last three or so years in a nursing home. Of course, I understand that this is not enough for me to get into a good MSW (I was hoping for NYU or Fordham since I live in NYC and would like to remain in the area). So I thought a public policy minor might help - I was told it certainly wouldn't hurt - but I feel that it would be more beneficial to someone interested in macro social work.

So lately, I've been thinking about dropping the minor, which would give me some extra time to maybe do some volunteer work. In my opinion, volunteer experience would look better than a public policy minor, but I don't want to make any rash decisions, only to regret them later. Ideally, I'd like to both volunteer and do the public policy minor, but I commute back and forth to school (which is about 2 hours one-way) and I have a part-time job (which is unfortunately unrelated to social work, but it pays the bills), so on top of my coursework, I don't have the time to do both this semester.

I have a good GPA (4.0), but for an MSW, I don't think that would matter much. I plan on graduating in Spring 2014, so I'd be applying for Fall 2014. Unfortunately, that doesn't give me much time to get more experience in the field :( Still, I plan to do some volunteer work this summer, and am trying to find job opportunities in the field (though this is difficult due to my lack of experience).