Advice for Making Good Resume

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

leighg

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone :) (This is going to be a long post but please take time to read)
So I am a sophomore at the College of Saint Benedicts (a small well known private school) and I am biology major and pre-optometry. My course load at this school is extremely rigorous, so my GPA is currently 3.0. Being that I'm a sophomore, I have lots of room for improvement of my GPA which is comforting! I'm actually retaking a class that I got a CD in last semester (physics) and I currently have a B so it's guaranteed to go up as that grade replaces the awful CD (I had a really bad family situation that semester). I'm currently working on getting my hours in for job shadowing, I have about 15 hours done with one optometrist in my hometown who is in her first year out of optometry school and is very successful already. She has already offered to write me a letter of recommendation and to be my mentor. I have also contacted an alum from my school who said I can job shadow with her, so I'm going to go visit her town for a week and stay with a friend and shadow her for as many hours as possible. The third optometrist that I've contacted is one that is overseas with my father and is an optometrist in the military (which I am hoping to pursue as I enlist if everything works out). I am extremely involved in my college and community.

Here's a list of what I've done in college so far as involvement:

Summer before First Year:
-nannied
-A&W (I've worked there since 2010)
-Local Legion bussing
-Park Lane Resorts Cleaning cabins

First Year:
-Dynamix a cappella group
-First Year Forward (Had a mentor)
-Intermural Volleyball
-Special Olympics Bowling Coach
-STLF Spring Break Mission Trip
-Job at Food place on campus
-Sang at 50+ events
-Benedictine Friends (Paired with nun on campus as mentor)
-Art Club
-Biology Club