Advice from vet students please?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kara31191

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, my name is Kara, and I'm a junior in High School, I just started my junior year. I've been working for our family avian/exotics vet for about 7 months and I have about 600 hours of veterinary experience so far. I'm applying to Adventures in Veterinary Medicine this year at Tufts. So here's my question:

How should I pick a school for undergrad?

So far, I'm been Looking at University of Massachusetts Amherst, and the University of New Hampshire, and possibly Worcester Polytechnical Institute. I'm trying to keep the cost to a minimum though!

I know I'm looking for Biology and I printed out all the admission requirements for a few vet schools I'm interested in : University of Florida, Louisiana State, University of Georgia, Tufts University, and Cornell so far. I will probably also print out University of Tennesee and their requirements, as well as University of California... Then I think that's about it. :D

So basically, how do I narrow down my search? Where did some of you go to school for undergrad? Is Umass Amherst a good school? How about University of New Hampshire? Thank you, Kara.

Members don't see this ad.

First off, almost any school you go to will offer the courses you need to meet the course requiremnts of nearly all vet schools.

The umass amherst animal science program is top notch(or atleast thats what they claim). They do offer lots of opportunities for you to get hands on experience with large animals(sheep, goats, cows, alpacas) as part of their program.

kara,

wow, you are very prepared :)