Advice/Input on my ECs (Kind of a Long Post)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nikeshp

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
These will be the ECs I plan on listing. I am a second semester sophomore. Anything I am missing?

Student Forest Activities Club --- Co-executive --- Since Freshmen year, about 4 hours of work a month --- My school has a huge experimental forest, so we just try to get more money for the forest to build better trails, etc. along with taking students out and raising awareness of the forest.

Research --- 40 hours a week --- Summer after Freshmen year --- In Organic Chemistry

Guitar --- 1-2 hours a week --- something I do for fun, started second semester freshmen year.

Internship at School Radio Station --- 2 hours a week --- Second Semester Sophomore Year --- Only to learn about new music

Ethics Debate Team --- 10 hours a week, for 8 weeks a semester --- During my sophomore year and first semester of junior year --- I get course credit for it, my school is a national championship winning team, by far the best experience of undergrad so far for me.

Creation v. Evolution Project --- 3 hours a week --- Same time period as Ethics debate team --- We are making podcasts dealing with common misconceptions in the debate, and we are hoping to spread this around to teachers who have problems with this and see the effects it has.

Shadowing --- at least 20 hours a week --- Summer after sophomore year --- I will try to make this into some sort of internship, do this and study for the MCAT all summer

Philosophy Club --- 4 hours a week --- 2 meetings where we just go and talk about various social/philosophical issues.

The thing I know I am lacking is volunteering, but is it really necessary? If so, would medical volunteering suffice or do I need both. I also plan on studying abroad second semester Junior year, not sure if that means anything.