GBCrzzyy

The moon is just the back of the sun.
2+ Year Member
May 18, 2016
Status
Medical Student
I'm trying to plan for the worst right now so that I know what I'll do if I don't get into any schools that I love. I've applied to 26 DO schools and 6 MD schools (just my state school and a few others that are low-tier schools that seem to be mission based). My state MD school is my dream school - I'm a MA resident. But there are plenty of DO schools that I really love too that I know I would be really happy at if I got accepted. The other half are DO schools that are newer and that I feel I have a decent shot at.

My stats are cgpa 3.5/ sgpa 3.4/ mcat 501 (2nd take) - AACOMAS verified but not AMCAS verified yet (although I have no class retakes so it shouldn't change for AMCAS)
I have about 80 hours of shadowing, 900+ hours of non-clinical volunteering (most of that is being a volunteer firefighter), strong EC's and leadership, but no research. I have graduated and am currently in my gap year, I'm spending my time working and just doing things that I enjoy.