Advice on 500+

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mcatstruggle

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I need some advice a little out of the ordinary. I'm so jealous of the people who have a 500+ straight from the get-go. I'm struggling getting over the 500 plateau. Anyone in a similar position? What did you do? I need a 505 to get an interview at the school I'm doing my masters in, so I'm not aiming super high. But I'm really struggling to get out of the 495.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there. To break that 500 barrier is usually a simple fix! Don't worry, what I'm guessing your issue is is content. You simply don't know enough facts. Lucky for you, that just means memorizing.

Memorize the following:
Phys/Chem:
1. Memorize all old school physics math equations: yes, they come up even in the new MCAT

Bio/Biochem:
1. Glycolysis: all substrates, enzymes, names, and organic structures
2. Citric Acid Cycle: 1. Glycolysis: all substrates, enzymes, names, and organic structures
3. Amino Acids: Organic structure, full name, 3 letter abbreviation, and 1 letter abbreviation

Psy/Soc
1. Bystander effect
2. 3 emotional interpretation theories
3. Kohlbergs stages
4. Piaget Stages

That should be enough to crack 500.

Reactions: 1 user
I agree with the above poster OP. If you know really high yield stuff like that well you should build a solid foundation to get you over 500.

Have you done any AAMC FLs? I personally did not feel as though 3rd party exams were very indicative of the real thing.

Hey there. To break that 500 barrier is usually a simple fix! Don't worry, what I'm guessing your issue is is content. You simply don't know enough facts. Lucky for you, that just means memorizing.

Memorize the following:
Phys/Chem:
1. Memorize all old school physics math equations: yes, they come up even in the new MCAT

Bio/Biochem:
1. Glycolysis: all substrates, enzymes, names, and organic structures