Advise needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bill_252001

B+
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
so here is how it goes.
I am a 3rd yr DO student on clinical rotations. I took USMLE and COMLEX (for DO) and scored 241/99 and 720/99. I am almost 100% sure that I want to do radiology residency. I don't know what the stats are like for those who matched so can someone please tell me what are my chances, also whatelse can i do to strengthen my application. Any background in radition physics, etc will help?? how about a masters' program??

What chances do i have for landing MD residency with this score??

Thanks much in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Saar,

Advise is given & advice taken.

Danke

so here is how it goes.
I am a 3rd yr DO student on clinical rotations. I took USMLE and COMLEX (for DO) and scored 241/99 and 720/99. I am almost 100% sure that I want to do radiology residency. I don't know what the stats are like for those who matched so can someone please tell me what are my chances, also whatelse can i do to strengthen my application. Any background in radition physics, etc will help?? how about a masters' program??

What chances do i have for landing MD residency with this score??

Thanks much in advance.

Check out http://radiology.matchapplicants.com/ for stats of previously matched applicants.

Members don't see this ad :)
The avg Step 1 for Rads hovers at about 235, so you would be above avg. Being a DO is a negative factor, but wouldn't ban you from the specialty. I would say the best thing you can do is get involved in a Rads research project, that would be way better than spending an entire year on some Masters program. It's REALLY impt to get A's in your core clinical rotations, esp Surgery & Medicine (but really all of them).

You should be able to match somewhere if you post some good stats, maybe not the top program in the country, but somewhere.