This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scrubedin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What is your opinion of a Sub 20yr old medical student

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
What is your opinion of a Sub 20yr old medical student
I dont have a problem with it as long as they are mature, now if they are like 15 or somewhere around there, then they might have a little trouble especially during clinicals. But if they are 18 or 19 and mature then it is fine.

You know, it is possible to be a pretty traditional applicant and be 20. I started 1st grade instead of doing 'kindergarten', and I finished my first UGrad degree in 3 years. If I wanted to apply then, I would have been 20. As it is, I got 2 degrees and did a gap year, and I am still only 22, entering in August. What is considered the "normal" age, anyway?

Edit- oh, wait, you said SUB-20. nm, what route do you mean? I think it depends on the route taken. I.E., as long as you finish your ugrad degree I would be fine with it. If you are 18, in college, and decide you want to go straight into med school without finishing the rest of your degree, I'd say deifinately not. Good grades don't automatically mean commitment.

well in most of the rest of the world, students go straight to med school after high school. So theyre all sub-20 when they start.
I met a bunch of kids from like the UK last summer and there were some that were my age and going into residency. :eek:

In general, i dont think youre mature enough to go onto med school sub 20, especially if you didn't go through undergrad.

Let me clarify: I was put into 1st grade w/o kindergarden, I am graduating hs 1 yr early and the plan is to do the same in undergrad. that would make me 19 entering medical school.