Air Force Air National Guard during residency after Flight Surgeon HPSP commitment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ANG/Reserves during residency?

• Yes

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Sweetpotatoguy

Potatoes
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all!

I did a couple searches and was not able to find a collective post regarding this topic.

I am currently finishing my 4 year AD tour in the USAF and I plan on pursuing a Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency after my commitment. I am a GMO Flight Surgeon (transitional residency internship)

I have spoken to many Air National Guard ANG (not Army National Guard) and Reservists about the possibility of going into one or the other after my commitment. I have not talked to a recruiter as of yet.

Once I start my residency, how possible is it to be in the ANG/Reserves and complete residency concurrently? Is there a bonus when I sign up? What is the benefit of not accepting the bonus? Is Tricare by itself worth joining the ANG/Reserves during residency (or after)? Would I be able to transfer my GI bill to my dependents in the ANG/Reserves (I have less than 3 years currently which is why I haven't transferred it already)?

All in all, I enjoy the comradery and the opportunity to deploy every once in a while (get away from the daily grind and the tax free money). This may change as I finish my commitment and I may just appreciate my service as a season which has passed. I like the fact that Tricare can cover my family and if I'm able to transfer my GI bill, there is another plus.

If it comes down to just $$$, would I make more in the civilian sector when all the benefits are included?

Also, I forgot to add, can I use my GI bill during residency?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi all!

I did a couple searches and was not able to find a collective post regarding this topic.