Alright guys, what's the best way to prep for the DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UCSD1984

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to be taking the DAT on August 27. I'm going to start studying in about 5-10 days. I'm completely new to this exam, and I haven't taken a Bio or Chem course in almost a year. Last time I took Physics was 4-4.5 years ago. I hear things about DAT Destroyer, Chads, Kaplan, Crack...but what are the strengths and weaknesses within each?

Since I haven't been in a "sciency" environment for quite some time, I wouldn't mind dishing out 1500 bucks on a course...IF they're worth it. Only one I know of is Kaplan, but perhaps there are others? I'd love to also hear input from people who have taken the courses before and utilized them to their full extent...to see if they're worth the price tag/time or not.

I'm excited. I'd like to start ordering/organizing today. Thanks so much guys.

Members don't see this ad.

Order:

DAT Destroyer - Science
Math Destroyer
Crack DAT PAT
Crack DAT MATH
ACS Gen Chem
ACS Organic Chem
Cliffs AP BIOLOGY
CHAD's Videos for Gen Chem and O-Chem
Kaplan Blue book -- Decent overview of everything

Check out DentalWorks 8 week study plan that is posted at the top of this forum... There are lots of breakdowns on this site and recommendations. The general consensus is that the courses are not worth the money. Get a good at home study plan and stick to it.

Order:

DAT Destroyer - Science
Math Destroyer
Crack DAT PAT
Crack DAT MATH
ACS Gen Chem
ACS Organic Chem
Cliffs AP BIOLOGY
CHAD's Videos for Gen Chem and O-Chem
Kaplan Blue book -- Decent overview of everything

Check out DentalWorks 8 week study plan that is posted at the top of this forum... There are lots of breakdowns on this site and recommendations. The general consensus is that the courses are not worth the money. Get a good at home study plan and stick to it.