Am I automatically disqualified from getting into med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
F

flowercakepops

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
The fact that your undergrad ranked its students doesn't disqualify from medical school. The fact that you have a GPA of 3.14 is what really hurts your chances of getting into medical school. Even then, DO grade replacement or performing well in a SMP are possible avenues you can pursue to get in despite your GPA.

Reactions: 2 users
I graduated last year with a fairly low gpa of 3.14 in a non-science degree. I managed to complete most of the science prereqs except organic chemistry and biochemistry so decided to enroll in a postbacc program to complete the courses and raise my undergrad gpa.

Out of curiosity I decided to view my undergrad transcript and was shocked because my undergrad ranks its students. I fell in the 27th percentile overall, and in addition, each semester my cumulative and semester class rank was published. Are my chances for med school ruined? I am just really distraught because most undergrad institutions don't rank so I am just feeling really depressed despite doing well in my postbacc program.
Your school's ranking of you would not appear on the transcript that the application service generates for you. The only med school that will see your actual official transcript is the med school you will attend. And this is after you're accepted, not before.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Not at all!

The fastest path for you to become a doctor will be to retake all F/D/C science coursework, do well on MCAT, and apply to DO schools.