Am I delusional at this point?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ADDwildlife80545

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my 4th year of undergrad and I'm still Pre Vet. When ilI tell people that I am still Pre Vet, they have a questionable look in their eyes, like I shouldn't be pre vet. Why? Well, I've retaken the entire gen chem series, have recieved mediocre grades in major classes, and I am currently retaking the first o chem. I love vet medicine and in classes where we practice technical skills and the like, I thrive and am reminded how much I love it. But I struggle immensely in academic classes because the environment of being with other pre vet students gives me anxiety and causes me to shut down. The competition freaks me out and it has shown in my grades. I have a cumulative college GPA of 2.6 and it has been a continuous struggle to bring it up. I also have basically no experience in vet clinics. Currently I am interning at a clinic, but I am not allowed to do much besides watch. I know I won't be attending vet school right away because I just don't compare right now, but am I being delusional thinking that eventually I will attend vet school with my experience and my school career being the way it has been? Or should I give up now?

Members don't see this ad.

You are not delusional, if anything you seem overly-critical. I mean yes, it does sound like you don't have the most competitive application, but you clearly have the passion for the career. If your academics are on the weaker side, you should really focus on experience. If you're in the US, consider applying to your local Banfield as a vet assistant. There is about 8 weeks of training though (and it's essentially full-time), so you should apply right before summer begins (it usually takes them about 2 weeks to get back to you). You don't need any experience to apply, but you learn SO MUCH.