Am I making the right decision?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TrueBlood

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a recent biology graduate who graduated with a 3.5 GPA. I did research in college (entomology) but never had clinical experience (except for high-school).Tomorrow I am registered to take the MCAT, but on 2 practice exams (taking them from beginning to end) I ended up getting a 24 and a 26. Obviously my chances of getting accepted are slim if I hit in that range.

My question is, should I delay taking the MCAT?

On one hand, I really want to get it over with. But on the other hand, I know applying will be a waste of money. Thus, most likely I will be retaking the MCAT again... which I been told is something you don't want to do unless it is an absolute; Obviously, scoring a 31 the first time is better than scoring a 31 the second time.

Furthermore, by delaying the MCAT, I will have the opporunity to strengthen my appplication. Recently I just joined the rescue squad and signed up for EMT classes. I also plan to shadow some DOs so that I can apply to osteopathic schools as well. Hopefully, these two things togeather (combined with a better MCAT score) will make me a competitive application.

Essentially, I just want some honest feedback about my decision. To be honest, the reason why I've waited so long to make this decision is because... I really.... really... don't want to wait two years to enter medical school. For some reason, I feel like a loser for even taking a year off after college... even though I know many people are in my shoes.

Furthermore, do medical schools know that you cancel your appointment dates? Cause I delayed it once, and then plan to cancel tonight.

Members don't see this ad.