Another moonlighting thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sea_Bass

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a PGY-1 carib grad at a program that is moonlighting friendly.

I want to moonlight as much as possible 3rd year and possibly even a bit in my 2nd year. According to the following table, I live in a state that allows a US grad "initial licensure" after 1 year, but an IMG needs 3 years:

https://www.fsmb.org/licensure/usmle-step-3/state_specific

What does this mean in regards to moonlighting? Does it mean I can't moonlight until I'm done with PGY-3? Or does this chart not apply to my situation?

I have asked my senior residents and program coordinator about this, but no one seems to be able to give me a straight answer since I'm currently the only IMG in the program. I've been told that if I can find moonlighting opportunities on my own, my PD will sign off on it. First I guess I gotta figure out if it's even possible for an IMG like me.

um, can you just contact your state licensing board? I have a feeling the might have some idea about what you're allowed to do in the practicing of medicine with your license in their state, since you know, that's a thing they do

EDIT: sorry, making a joke at your expense, but really, just wanna help. They will know better than us, and it's safer to be sure you're following the med board's rules than anything we might say

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
um, yeah, cause large bureaucratic state agencies are always so willing take your questions, and the random people who answer the phone are just full of accurate information.

sorry to make a joke at your expense, but I think a simple question like this could easily be answered on this forum. Surely there's SOMEONE out there who is an IMG that's moonlighted (moonlit?) and can answer this question.