Another one of these "Am I too old?" questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gerald1

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here, but learning a ton! :) It's a great community and I appreciate all the generous advice people provide. I wanted to ask another one of these "Am I too old questions?" please but in a more specific way. I'd be interested to get people's opinions, good and bad.

I'm 42, I have a bachelor's from a good university, and I would need to do all my science prereqs (they're too old now and I've probably forgotten almost everything). I plan to quit my job and focus entirely on doing my prereqs. My family fully supports my decision and my wife plans to continue to work so we have a steady income. We have no debt currently. If I can finish my prereqs, MCAT, shadowing, and volunteering (I already have some published scientific research, though not in a high impact journal like Science or Nature), in 2-3 years, and assuming I get accepted to med school somewhere (I realize that's a big if), then I should be matriculating right around age 44-45. I would finish med school at age 48-49. I work at a cancer center and I get to interact with physicians such as hematologists and oncologists, giving me some limited insight as an outsider, yet I'm sure I have no idea what I'm talking about, and possibly I will change my mind if I'm lucky enough to get into med school, but right now I would be most interested in pursuing hematology-oncology. Assuming that happens, then my understanding from speaking with physicians is that is another 6 years (3 years for internal medicine, 3 years for hematology-oncology). If I make it, then I would be finished at age 54-55.