Any acceptances with a GPA 3.0 or lower?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

illgetin1day

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I haven't applied to pharmacy school yet, since I have a lot to work on before applying. I am graduating in May with a BS in Biological Sciences. I have 5+ years pharmacy work experience (hospital and retail). I haven't taken the PCAT yet and my GPA is still very low it will be about 2.9 at the of the semester. I still need to take the PCAT and raise my GPA significantly before I have any significant chances of getting in. But I am curious to see who has gotten acceptances with low GPA's since I can only raise my GPA so much since I have 130 credits.

Members don't see this ad.

Try your best and just know that it is possible. If you search around the forum, you will find other members who had a gpa on the lower end and have been accepted to pharmacy school. My cGPA is 3.08 and it's been a long uphill battle (I have over 150 credits). Show the upward grade trend and take initiative by taking upper-division classes (and doing well in them). I took a lot of science classes that weren't required for pharmacy school like Biochem, Immuno, Vertebrate Zoology, etc to make up for the less than stellar grades I got in Gen Bio and my first try at Gen Chem.

Getting a good PCAT score will definitely help too. Your experience in retail and hospital is a great asset as well; it'll be a helpful advantage when writing your PS and during interviews. Good luck.

Edit-- You should check out this recent thread: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=514248