Any advice on studying organic chemistry in advance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ahart01

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm a non-trad post-bacc student like most of folks here on this thread (it's been 9 years out since my undergraduate). I'm seeking advice on how to well prepare for organic chemistry 1, which I will be taking in the fall. My initial plan was to take biology 1 over the summer to alleviate the burden of taking both biology 1 and orgo 1 at the same time in the fall as both courses at my school, where I'm doing post-bacc premed program at, are known to be really tough. However, due to COVID everything is now online, I decided not to take biology over the summer and cram everything crammed in 7 weeks.

I have taken gen chem about 4 years ago, so I would probably need a refresher on it for sure, but I heard that organic chemistry is a bit different from gen chem. Since I will be taking bio1 and orgo 1 at the same time in the fall (and I have a part time job as a medical interpreter working three days a week at a hospital) I wanted to get a head start on at least one of the courses and just completely review it so that at least while during the course I can alleviate the pain of juggling both heavy classes. I think previewing and studying orgo might be helpful in the next two months (July, August - school starts Sept) since orgo might also help understanding bio better. Should I hire a tutor? If I do so, I'm not sure what I would use to study. Not sure if using the textbook is going to help either since it really depends on the instructors and lecture material.

Any advice and thoughts would be greatly appreciated/welcomed. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Khan Academy is a good resource to get started with. Reviewing electron orbitals from general chemistry (s, p, and hybridization). Organic chemistry as a second language is useful resource.