Any differences in Navy vs. Air Force

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drew5264

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How is it going? I just joined the forum today but have read a lot in the past just never actually joined. I graduated this year from Nova Southeastern in Ft. Lauderdale, FL.

After looking at my loans I realized I owe a ridiculous amount of $, a lot more than most pharmacy grads. I have been looking into pharmacy in the air force and navy. Ive spoke to pharmacists in both branches to get a feel for the differences but thought Id post a question here.

If anyone could give me some objective differences between the two it would be much appreciated. My primary concerns are loan repayment, deployment possibility and length of time (I have a family with a kid), residency opportunities and possibilities for long term?

Thanks, Andy

Members don't see this ad.

The scholarships are structured differently. There's a bunch of Navy and AF pharmacy threads from yesteryear you can find via search.

Gist of the scholarships as of last year (what people have reported on here, check w/ a health science recruiter for current details):

Navy: Considered "active duty" while on scholarship and receive stipend, housing allowance, and health insurance. 2-yr scholarship, those two years count toward your "20 yr" retirement. NO tuition coverage, but the allowance/stipend is generous.

AF: Not considered "active duty" while on scholarship. Receive stipend only and health insurance over the summer. Apparent 45 day/yr commitment over the summer (no further details/confirmation on this). YES to tuition coverage for the last 2 years only.

Other differences... Navy = other duties in addition to being a pharmacist. AF = "just a pharmacist" (refer to other threads). Obviously base locations are different.

This is a summary of what's been said on the forums, again...check with a recruiter for current details.