Any Ex-DPM now in medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

buknow

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I need some help :confused:

I'm a 1st year podiatry resident at 3 yr surgical progam who is really thinking of applying to medical school. I'm just tired of working my butt-off everyday not sure of what my future holds. I respect the profession for what it stands for but, just can't deal with all the politics and all the lies.

It is true. Podiatrist really eat their YOUNG!

For all ex-pods in medical school or in my situation:
How difficult was it to change profession?
What reactions did you get from medical school as an applicant with a DPM?

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

hey b
if you look at some of the old posts..there are a few dpms who went to medical school afterwards
i cant remeber all of their names
but i know toejam is one of them, try pmin them....if not you can always ask you local medschool and see how they would view you..i know the DO schools are pretty helpful in that regard

from what i gather, getting a dpm does make you more marketable, youll probably have to retake the mcats though
most schools only accpet them if they are less than 3 yrs old (i think)

i hope you have some luck in finding what makes you happy
but dont forget man...there are b@stards in every proffesion...there are plenty of mds out there who will screw you too
just be careful and rely on yourself first
goodluck to you and let us know how it all turns out
-j

Yep. I'm in my 2nd semester of DO school at Western/COMP. Feel free to PM me if you have any questions.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey b,
I'm also a former pod student who went to Barry, but I didn't finish to get my DPM. I am now in my fourth year at Nova Southeastern Univ. If you have any questions let me know. Best of luck.