Anybody in The Atlantic Bridge Program???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Med-Student2B

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am applying to the Atlantic Bridge Program, but have so many questions being that I've never been to Ireland. I'm a US student by the way!

I am 26 years old now, and by the time I would go (if accepted!) I would have turned 27. Yes yes, I'm one of those that had the "calling" a little later than most, which is okay. I am just concerned that there won't be many other my age for me to connect with.

I would love to hear from students at all four schools!!! :)

Also - about residency in New York. Has anyone done it from Ireland? If so, what steps did you take and where did you do the residency?

How does an Irish Medical Degree effect chances of residecy placement in New York?

I am definately looking forward to some med-talk with you guys. I have a ton of questions buzzing around in my mind, but it's a little hard to get a feel for what goes on in other countries while I'm sitting here in New York!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I can't really answer the residency stuff but depending on what specialty you want to enter, getting a residency in NY should be do-able. Irish medical qualifications are held in high regard, particularly on the East Coast. Good USMLE scores are everything!