Jan 7, 2014
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
I don't want to complain, but is it just me or was that PCAT nothing like the practice tests and Dr. Collins?

I bought 3 Pearson practice tests and scored around 80-90 composite on the last 2.

I studied for 3 weeks and got 40 composite. 22 verbal on this actual one.

There was literally three Ochem questions and no calculations on chemistry.

Idk if it was just me, but that test was ridiculously stupid.

NejixRockS

7+ Year Member
May 7, 2011
South Florida
Status
Pharmacy Student
the test was way harder than both Dr. Collins and the Pearson practice exam, but Dr. Collins still helped me a lot in Math/Chem and Bio. The verbal part of Dr. Collins was so-so, but the Reading part is garbage... I was getting 40+/48 in all the reading exams from Dr. Collins and ended up with a 26 percentile in the actual PCAT lol... (my composite was a 76)

Sep 18, 2013
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
I used the 2011 Dr Collins and improved my score from 61 to 85. Whatever material Dr. Collins didn't go thoroughly enough on, I read up on Kaplan. It does help to mention that I have my bachelors so I've taken all the required courses for pharmacy already besides anatomy. I personally felt Dr. Collins prepares you for the format and how to get your mind used to thinking quick for the little amount of time available for each section. I did see a few exact same questions as the practice tests though. I didn't study the reading or verbal this time around and it definitely killed me.

Why are you retaking if you got composite scores of 80-90 anyway? Especially if you got those scores your first two attempts, I would feel like it's pretty indicative of your PCAT abilities and you should just focus on the rest of your application/interviews.

Oct 8, 2013
Status
Pharmacy Student