Anyone else switch from pre-vet to pre-med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

petmedicine

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am in somewhat of an uncommon situation, but I'm wondering if anyone here (be it a fellow pre-med, med student, doctor, etc) has switched from pre-vet to pre-med. I am planning on staying in my animal sciences degree since I graduate in three semesters and all of my pre-reqs for med school are the same. Afterwards, I'm taking a prep class and studying for several months then taking the mcat and a gap year. I'd like to work full time in research using animal models for human diseases and medicine during that year, but if my gpa is garbage, I'll probably do an SMP.
What I'm wondering is how medical schools will look at my experience in the veterinary field. I've been a vet tech in emergency and critical care for about 14 months now (roughly 600 hours, I haven't counted in a while). I have full responsibilities equating to that of a human RN. I get my own in-patients, triage, give medicine, draw blood, run blood tests, place IV catheters, help run codes, etc etc. Is it likely anyone on an admissions committee will consider this as clinical experience or will it be disregarded entirely because my patients are dogs and cats? Is there any amount of interviewing skills I can use to play up my valuable time spent in this field?

Members don't see this ad.