Anyone know how to properly bill insurance for vaccines?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Notcow

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
This question is particularly in regard to Medicaid and Medicare billings. Even more specifically, AHCP. I'm a Pharm Tech at a CVS is a pretty poor district, so ~75% of our patients are now Medicaid, and they don't play nice with vaccines for some reason. Despite this, practically every state's Medicaid program bar Florida fully covers the flu vaccine.

It looks like adjudication would require "CPT codes"...which I've never heard of and don't know how to get to that field.

I assumed that every store had to deal with a large influx of Medicaid patients due to the recent shakeup, but apparently not since no one in my district seems to know how to bill them.

Billing insurance via the standard method usually soft-rejects, advising me to enter "MA" in the Professional Service Code field. They will then proceed to reject anyways indicating that there's an invalid code in our Professional Service Code field. :dead:

Hilariously, I've been advised by the brass to use the 72-hour overrides, but until I get that in writing I'm not doing it.

Any links to resources would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi, I would imagine that CVS should be able to provide you with some information, after all, you are working hard making them profit.