Anyone taking longer than 4 years to finish?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KnowBody

..till somebody wuvs you
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I expect I'll be a great grandmother by the time I finish med school. Is anyone else taking longer than four years to finish, and what's your story?

Members don't see this ad.

stupid musculoskeletal system one test for your grade set-up.... GRRRRRRRRRR however, it's completely worked out for the better! I'd almost rather do it this way if I had to do it all over again.

Don't know the guy or his story, but apparently a guy who started in 2000 graduated this year from our school.

To put it in perspective, I graduated high school in 2001, started medical school 2005. But hey, he's an M.D.

Members don't see this ad :)
I expect I'll be a great grandmother by the time I finish med school. Is anyone else taking longer than four years to finish, and what's your story?

Why is it taking you longer than 4 years to graduate?

Happens all the time, and not always because of failures in class - some get too sick (with seirous stuff, CA, anything necssitating a good amount of time in an ICU) to continue the year or catch up - I know of a guy who was attacked going to his car to get books late at night, post-traumatic stress killed his concentration - also, many girls who get pregnant like to extend - or some folks meet and marry someone a class behind and decide to extend 3/4 year. This is nothing new and nothing to feel bad about. It will come up during interviews, and a simple explanation will suffice, and if it was because you failed biochem, or something like that, you merely point out what you did to overcome and that you had no problems after.

I study abroad and here (in Poland) I'll have 6 years of pure and lovely med school. That's because premed school isn't required for application.