AP biology credit

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I should?

• learn the material on my own

Votes: 2 10.5%
  • take several upper level courses (which ones?)

Votes: 12 63.2%
  • take the into courses and not us my AP credit

Votes: 5 26.3%

• Total voters

chess_king

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got a 5 on the AP bio test and my school is giving me 6 credits (2 courses) in the introductory biology courses.

I am majoring in chemistry, so I could not take any additional biology courses at all. The problem is that I do not feel that I learned much in my AP course.

I do not want to take courses which I already have credit for, but I need to do well on the MCAT. Should I learn biology by taking upper level courses as electives, or should I just learn the material through independent study?

Does anyone else have this type of problem? The AP test which I took required very little biology knowledge. My essay question was "describe the difference between exponential and linear growth" and a multiple choice question was "is this graph increasing or decreasing". So everyone that could read and knew algebra got 5's.

Members don't see this ad.

chess_king said:
I got a 5 on the AP bio test and my school is giving me 6 credits (2 courses) in the introductory biology courses.

I do not want to take courses which I already have credit for, but I need to do well on the MCAT. Should I learn biology by taking upper level courses as electives, or should I just learn the material through independent study?

I was in the same boat. Take upper division courses- they'll help with the MCAT and with med school later on. Genetics, molecular bio, micro, anatomy, etc.

Any decent MCAT prep course will help you fill in the basic bio gaps before the test.