Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 7, 2016
Status
Non-Student
As an unfortunate consumer of virtually every of opiate analgesic available for the last 8 years, I am compelled to share my side of the story! I am a patient, not a student. I am a Mexican American man, have many colorful tattoos, wear two earrings, bracelets etc. and play electric guitar in a rock band! What you can't tell from the outside is I was a nuclear engineer in the Navy, have degrees in IT and Electronic Engineering with a masters in business! I have been out of work for nearly 8 years and had a L5-S1 fusion, L-4-5-S1 revision (not required-misdiagnosed), an electronic stimulator implanted and later removed (recalled due to lithium ion battery exploding in peoples rear ends!) and my right SI joint fused! I have had ablations, injections, blocks-more needles stuck in my back than I care to think about! I am still in tremendous pain and now what I feel is the correct diagnosis is bursitis of the right hip, very possibly an infected bursa due to 8 years of continuous pain in same area. I came to my SI joint surgeon on extremely high doses of narcotics. I could see it was changing my relationships with the medical community, no one wanted to touch me. I brought myself down to a reasonable level of narcotics and approached my surgeon (I'm sure giving him a little more room to control pain post op).