Apply to one school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lucid interval

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a non-traditional student planning on taking the MCAT and applying this coming cycle. I have been planning on applying only to the in-state school where I live currently and also where my partner has just been accepted to a four-year masters program. My thought process has been that even if I am unable to get into this school the first time around, it would worth it to me to give it another go rather than accepting at another school. This makes sense to me.

However, I have heard some talk that only applying to one school can be seen as a sign of insufficient commitment by admissions and count as a negative. I have also heard that declining an offer of admission to any school makes you a non-starter with other schools on a different application cycle. Does anyone have any insight or experience with this question? Is applying to just one school going to hurt my application?

If stats help I'll have a 3.9-something GPA and have been scoring around 35 on practice MCAT's so far. Thanks in advance for your help

Members don't see this ad.

If stats help I'll have a 3.9-something GPA and have been scoring around 35 on practice MCAT's so far. Thanks in advance for your help

It greatly depends on whether your in-state school is in California or Mississippi or somewhere in between. What are the median stats for your preferred school according to the MSAR?

It greatly depends on whether your in-state school is in California or Mississippi or somewhere in between. What are the median stats for your preferred school according to the MSAR?

The school is OHSU in Portland, OR and the average stats that I have seen are from 2005 and say GPA - 3.67 and MCAT - 10.3

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)