Applying for hospital positions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmacy112233

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated this year and I am applying for hospital positions, mostly in the rural area. I have not received any interviews. So far I have been applying with a one-page resume, cover letter and references (when asked). Would it be better to apply with my CV instead of resume? Granted, its longer but more detailed on my clinical rotations, research, presentations, leadership, etc. Thanks for any advice or personal experience!

Members don't see this ad.

There can be around a 100 people applying for 1 position when it comes to hospital positions. Applying with a CV instead of a resume won't increase your odds much. Connections and networking are more important.

Reactions: 3 users
1) often times these positions are filled before they are posted 2) if you don't have the right keywords/experience, you resume will automatically be discarded by the computer algorithm 3) as BigBoss says, hospitals get tens to hundreds of applications, if yours actually gets looked at by a human, it's going to be a quick glance, so if you don't say it on the first page it won't be seen.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
CV is better but unless you are iv trained or have a residency, the chances are slim unless you know folks

1) often times these positions are filled before they are posted 2) if you don't have the right keywords/experience, you resume will automatically be discarded by the computer algorithm 3) as BigBoss says, hospitals get tens to hundreds of applications, if yours actually gets looked at by a human, it's going to be a quick glance, so if you don't say it on the first page it won't be seen.