Applying for Neurology PGY2 (R) position

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

epileptic

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an IM PGY1 resident at a university program in TX. I am also an IMG and a permanent resident. I feel I enjoy Neurology more than IM and am interested in switching speciality and would like to apply for PGY2 (R) positions in the upcoming match. I would also like to live close to my family in a major city. I am doing well above average at my current program. Given my circumstances,

1. Is it too late now?
2. Do I need to talk to my PD? If yes, when should I do that?
3. Will I need his recommendation?
4. If I am unable to find a new position would it hurt my current situation?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am an IM PGY1 resident at a university program in TX. I am also an IMG and a permanent resident. I feel I enjoy Neurology more than IM and am interested in switching speciality and would like to apply for PGY2 (R) positions in the upcoming match. I would also like to live close to my family in a major city. I am doing well above average at my current program. Given my circumstances,

1. Is it too late now?

Thanks in advance.
It is way too late to apply for this cycle. Don't even waste your money.

Have you done any Neuro rotations? Can you get at least 1 LOR? Does your current hospital have a Neurology residency? Have you talked to the PD of that program? If the answers to all of the above are "yes", then you need to be sitting down with the Neurology PD and your current PD and having an open and honest discussion about this and whether they would be willing to take you...that's your best bet.