1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

AP's on AMCAS coursework list

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by mdm2fly, May 10, 2007.

  1. mdm2fly

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    the amcas help button says that all courses, including AP courses I took in high school, should be listed in the coursework section if your university gave you credit for them. do i need to put a grade, score, or anything like that, or just write out what AP course i took. the problem is that i don't remember all the scores and grades i got for those courses, but if i don't fill it out, this red warning sign comes up, saying i should fill it out. anyone know what to do?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. MDee

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I just copied down what I had on my transcript. Next to all my AP credits, was the letter "T" in the grade column, so I put that on AMCAS. Now, I don't know what "T" means....
     
  4. goosie

    goosie Go Patriots
    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    I did the same as deenuh, my grade is listed as "CR" for credit.

    When in doubt, copy the transcript.
     
  5. little pebble

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    MDApps:
    Status:
    Medical Student
    Figured I'd bump this thread because my question's related...

    For my AP / IB credit, I actually got some credit hours for the classes that they fulfilled. So, when I'm identifying my academic status, I run into some problems. I have more than 30 credit hours after my first semester. Nice lady at AAMC told me that the AP credits count towards my status, so I'd actually be considered a sophomore second semester of my first year at university. Instruction manual said no, vaguely.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. Dr Durden

    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
    Last year (has it been that long already?), I put my five AP courses as part of my freshman year with "other" for term. I copied the substitute course title exactly from my transcript, put down the hours, but left grade blank. I then, obviously, checked the "Advanced Placement" box. However, I did not use these hours to make me a sophomore after just one semester.

    AMCAS had no problem with what I did. Hope this helps. :luck:
     

Share This Page