Are there really only 12 residency vacancies around the country? Have things changed that much since I was a resident?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tennis1980

Reaction score
Back when I was a resident I had the impression there were lots of unfilled positions around the country in various specialties. Spots would remain unfilled even after the match/scramble/soap, some would open up during the year as residents resigned for various reasons, etc.

I was looking into this recently and I was surprised to see that there are only 12 open positions around the country, according to the findaresident site.

Is this true? Findaresident seems like the “official” place where positions would be listed, I’m not sure if vacancies get posted elsewhere.

Do programs these days prefer to leave spots empty rather than fill them outside the match/soap, or maybe spots get filled up more quickly?

Members don't see this ad.

Not sure everyone's mentality, but we had residents leave for various reasons during my residency, and none of the openings were listed on Findaresident. They just remained empty.

Reactions: 1 users
Not sure everyone's mentality, but we had residents leave for various reasons during my residency, and none of the openings were listed on Findaresident. They just remained empty.

Had the same issue at my former residency. Two people left, the program director didn't bother to find replacements so they remained empty. Seems nonsensical.

Reactions: 1 user
Had the same issue at my former residency. Two people left, the program director didn't bother to find replacements so they remained empty. Seems nonsensical.
Eh. We had one person quit after 2nd year (of a 3 year residency) and another have issues and left during third year. Hard to replace senior level residents.