Artificial Hearts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rht7w

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Saw a little bit about the Abiocor replacement heart in the news and as an engineer-turned-medical student, I definitely want to learn more.

Anyone know which institutions (besides Louisville) are working on building an artificial heart? Anything you can tell me about such a project would be awesome - who's doing it and where, is it feasible, where to read more (books, journals, etc.), that sort of thing. Thanks so much........

Members don't see this ad.

You know I think many people are trying to work on an artificial heart. I myself am an engineer turned doctor.

AT the University of Pittsburgh, their bioengineering department offers a special masters degree program for people that are in medical school in cardiovascular dynamics.

EVen in undergrad I was given the cahnce to take courses in cardiovascular dynamics, hemodynamics, artificial organs, etc. etc.

AT U Pitt the engineers do tons of research with the medical school!! The biggest thing that sparked my interest was the artifical lung they are working on.

Anyways, U Pitt is a place to learn all of this stuff and jump on the research bandwagon. They offer Ph.D/MD programs, I didn't have th eenduracne to do this program, but in my future, I might pick this stuff up again.

Artificial hearts have a LONG way to go before they are of really any use.

Right now, they are basically a 200k device for extending your life maybe a few weeks at most.

I dont see any point in the future in which a true artificial heart will serve as a replacement.

I think the much more attractive future of heart replacement is tissue engineering.

Building a mechanical scaffold and then stimulating stem cells to develop into myocytes, forming heart chambers around the scaffold is the future.