Athlete with low gpa what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wmgumby60

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a student athlete at the college of william and mary where I study kinesiology with a concentration in pre med as well as compete on the football team. My gpa is a 2.9c and 2.83s with only 3 semesters left in my college career. Due to football being a year round full time job I don't have any clinical experience. I have recently spoken to our schools premed advisor who suggested doing a post bacc or masters and gaining clinical experience. My question is will a DO or podiatry program take into consideration the difficulty of my undergrad as well as participating in football. Secondly, is clinical experience a deal breaker in admissions? Finally, will a DO or podiatry consider me without doing a post bacc? I have not taken the mcat yet.

Members don't see this ad.

Also I would like to add that I can't retake any couses at William and Mary because you have to have a D or lower to retake a class which I haven't received.

No, you're not competitive. There are a million and one meat-head football players with low GPAs. Football might make you interesting, and possibly offset your lack of clinical experience, if you had a 4.0 in a normal-to-difficult strength major (not Rocks-For-Jocks. I really know little of Kinesiology, but think of it as a middle-of-the-pack major).

You need to have realistic expectations here. You've not demonstrated, in any way, or to anyone, including yourself, that you can hack med/pod school. SMP might be the answer, but if, come to find out, you're a 2.8 student even when you're not playing football, it could be a costly and fruitless proposition.