This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedLove _02

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!
I am a communication disorders student who is currently contemplating what path I should take after my undergraduate degree. I have always had a passion for medicine because I really enjoy helping people, however math and science were never my particular strong suits. While science I can definitely work with, math seems to be something that just does not stick with me.

Now that being said, I have always excelled in English and written language. I thought that what better way to combine my interest in medicine and language than to major in communication disorders: I would get to help people, and be part of a medical team in addition to dwelling in my strengths. As I am progressing in my com dis program, I have been really drawn to Audiology, and I love the idea of being able to treat patients, potentially opening my own clinic, etc.

As I have done more research on the AuD profession, it seems like a lot of individuals have nothing but bad news or less than stellar results in their endeavors after graduating. I've even seen graduates posting that they would not recommend the field to anyone which is sad because I really feel this would be a dream job for someone like myself. Id like to hear your experiences regarding employment and career opportunities presented in the following years after graduation, or during grad school.

1: Is the salary competitive? (I dont need to be rich my any means, but Id like to be able to provide for a family and live comfortably and pay off loans etc.)

2: How is the work life balance? ( This kind of ties into wanting a family and being able to provide, etc.)

3: Is there any hope of opening an independent clinic? (I've been hearing that its relatively hard to get one established and profitable?)

4: Do you feel that there is an over saturation of Audiologists out there?