August too late to take the PCAT or should I take in June

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

atomi

Removed
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
---

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
this is a rough decision...you might be considering why you shouldn't/couldn't go to medical school. when i was in undergrad, i also debated between medical school and pharmacy school. i took the mcat...got a 23, then A LOT of things happened. i could have improved and still applied...but i realized it wasn't what i wanted after all. two years later, i'm now studying for the pcat.

so here's my advice to you, so you don't waste time(PRECIOUS) between undergrad and grad.
if your gpa is good and you have good references and are good at standardized tests, and you'll have enough time to study for the pcat apply to pharmacy school too(so wait until august to take the pcat, work on your pharmacy applications in the meantime)...pharmacy school is easier than med school to get into. get some kind of pharmacy experience asap, so you can show them this wasn't a random decision.

i wish i had decided like you what was good for me, instead of wasting the last two year!!
good luck to you.:luck::)

Ok, so you're saying take the MCAT in 2 weeks and send off med school applications in June-July while waiting for scores and deciding if I really want to do it over pharmacy. Then take the PCAT in August and send pharm school applications in September while completing any remaining pre-reqs. I'm thinking this sounds like a good plan because it will allow me more time (the alternative is take the PCAT 3 weeks after the MCAT) and hopefully going through the application process of each will give me a better idea of which I want to do should I be lucky enough to get into both types of schools.