• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Average Student But Over-applied, need help with cancelations

superhero16

10+ Year Member
Apr 10, 2009
  1. Medical Student
    Hey everyone, need some advice. I applied to too many schools and need to cancel a few. I am from Texas but have no preference on region. Like the title says, I'm an average student. I am focused on doing GI. What do you think? I appreciate the advice. There's no one at my home school whom I can really talk to. Which are in the absolutely do NOT cut list and which are relatively the same program and thus can pick based on other factors like city? Thanks!

Georgetown
    Washington University STL
    UTSW
    Mayo MN
    San Antonio
    Cedars Sinai
    Mayo AZ
    Baylor Houston
    Cleveland Clinic
    USC
    UArizona
    New Mexico
    UT Houston
    Mayo Jax
    UFlorida
    USF
    UMass
    Indiana
    Mount Auburn
    Case Western
    Methodist Houston
    Columbia
    Kaiser SanFran
    UCSF Fresno
    Austin SW
    Baylor Dallas
    A&M
    Rush
    Texas Tech

Howard

KRichards62

Feb 5, 2010
    1. Resident [Any Field]
      Based on those interviews, you are a better than average student. Considering you are interested in GI (highly competitive subspecialty), these are the interviews I would definitely go to...

-Wash U
      -UTSW
      -Columbia
      -Mayo MN

...and these are the programs I either don't know anything about, or probably aren't worth your time...

-Baylor Dallas (they actually have a good GI fellowship, so if you want to have a very easy IM residency and stay in Dallas for fellowship then go)
      -San Antonio
      -Mount Auburn
      -Case Western
      -Rush (decent program, but you could do better)
      -Methodist Houston