Average Student But Over-applied, need help with cancelations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

superhero16

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, need some advice. I applied to too many schools and need to cancel a few. I am from Texas but have no preference on region. Like the title says, I'm an average student. I am focused on doing GI. What do you think? I appreciate the advice. There's no one at my home school whom I can really talk to. Which are in the absolutely do NOT cut list and which are relatively the same program and thus can pick based on other factors like city? Thanks!

Georgetown
Washington University STL
UTSW
Mayo MN
San Antonio
Cedars Sinai
Mayo AZ
Baylor Houston
Cleveland Clinic
USC
UArizona
New Mexico
UT Houston
Mayo Jax
UFlorida
USF
UMass
Indiana
Mount Auburn
Case Western
Methodist Houston
Columbia
Kaiser SanFran
UCSF Fresno
Austin SW
Baylor Dallas
A&M
Rush
Texas Tech

Howard

Members don't see this ad.

Based on those interviews, you are a better than average student. Considering you are interested in GI (highly competitive subspecialty), these are the interviews I would definitely go to...

-Wash U
-UTSW
-Columbia
-Mayo MN

...and these are the programs I either don't know anything about, or probably aren't worth your time...

-Baylor Dallas (they actually have a good GI fellowship, so if you want to have a very easy IM residency and stay in Dallas for fellowship then go)
-San Antonio
-Mount Auburn
-Case Western
-Rush (decent program, but you could do better)
-Methodist Houston
-Austin SW (community program with very loose connection to UTSW)
-UFlorida (have not heard good things)
-USF

The remainder of programs are pretty random. Assuming you go to around 10 interviews, I would pick the 6 that seem the most appealing to you.