bad first semester = no med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swim_chicka

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I was wondering if ya'll could throw your two cents in here for me. I am a sophomore (marketing/pre-med..I Know, I know), but during my freshman year I was involved in a highly selective computer science/business honors program (that I am know leaving for various reasons). I have a couple of questions relating to this:

1) I have four more years of college, so I will be graduating after 5 years in undergrad. I have been told this might hurt my chances of getting into med school. Is this true?

2) I had a kind of rough first semster (pulled a 2.8), but my gpa is now above 3.0 and should be above 3.5 after this academic year. How much will this hurt me when it comes time to apply to med school?

3) Because of scholarship limits and other financial limitations, I can only take 15-17 hours a semester. At my school, most pre-meds take at least 18...will this affect me any?

Thank you so much!!! Some of the advisors at my school are trying to talk me into doing the pre-pa program instead of pre-med...but that's not what I realy want to do...

Members don't see this ad.

if your gpa has a significant upward trend they will over look your shady past :p :D just keep focused and work hard!

1) I have four more years of college, so I will be graduating after 5 years in undergrad. I have been told this might hurt my chances of getting into med school. Is this true?

Nope, not at all.

2) I had a kind of rough first semster (pulled a 2.8), but my gpa is now above 3.0 and should be above 3.5 after this academic year. How much will this hurt me when it comes time to apply to med school?

Again, this won't hurt you at all. You have PLENTY of time to pull the GPA up. MANY people have trouble their first semester. Think no more about it--just focus on the future.