Best foot forward at this point in time?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Phosphene

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent graduate with a BA in health science and policy and I plan to go on for an MPH in epidemiology, environmental health, or health & behavioral sciences. Maybe a dual degree? I'm very interested in disability, neuropsychology, environmental health and the medical humanities.

I have some research experience (summer research in a speech pathology laboratory, disability policy and legal research during undergrad), and I'm hoping to get more experience to get a better sense of what I want out of a career and a grad program. My undergrad GPA was 3.9, I've done a bunch of volunteer work, haven't taken the GREs yet. I made it to the final round of the CDC PHAP fellowship application and then nothing. Should I look into an NIH IRTA? I know those are more biomedically-oriented, but I want to be a competitive applicant for grad school. Or am I better served trying to find a research assistant position?

I was offered a position with FEMA Corps, FEMA's Americorps program, but I'm not sure if that makes sense for me professionally. My interest in emergency management is in public health preparedness/response for vulnerable populations, and I don't know if the program would allow me to pursue that focus. I'm currently doing a policy internship.

Applied to some ORISE fellowships, but just realized that there may be an issue with the transcript I submitted. I'm curious if anyone has any knowledge of or experience with the NIH Predoctoral Bioethics Fellowship?

I know this is a mess. Any feedback is greatly welcome.

Members don't see this ad.