Biochem or no Biochem?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedRaider19

Class of 2015
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is my situation - I am a sophomore and I need 3 hours of chemistry to complete my minor. It is currently between Biochem I and Analytical Chemical Methods. The Biochem professor that is teaching it this semester is infamous for having the worst grade distributions of any upper level chem class. (Less than 5% A's and more than 70% drop/fail). Analytical chemical methods seems interesting, and the class description mentions that the class focuses a lot on methods used in the biomedical and medical fields. (And the grades are quite favorable). I could wait another year and hope that someone else teaches biochem as well. Anyone have any opinions? I know that biochem is pretty big in medical school, and will not taking it as an undergrad hurt me too severely?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Analytical really doesn't follow the path that your future is headed. I took both classes. Biochem was both more enjoyable for me and also easier. I would recommend biochemistry and possibly wait a year for a better professor.

This sounds a lot like my school, what is your undergrad institution?

Members don't see this ad :)
I am in Biochem right now and I like it a lot more than I thought I would. It finally connects everything you have been learning and makes it biologically relevant since it is all working in a living system. It also is currently helping me a lot while studying for the MCAT BS section.

Haven't taken analytical, but never had a desire too. I am a Chem minor also and took Biochem I to complete it. I want to take II in the fall even though I don't need it but unfortunately Immuno was scheduled at the same time.

Maybe you can you take biochem over the summer at a different school and transfer the grade to your usual school.