bsn student now seeking med school...need advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nursek06

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am halfway thru my bsn program and decided I want to be a doctor. I don't know how to transition. I originally was going to go from rn to np but decided becoming an md would give me more options, autonomy, and respect. I am petrified of dropping off the rn-np track and then not getting into med school. I have friends who are much stronger med school candidates than me who have been rejected! I would appreciate input from others that may have been in similar situations. Thanks! hope to hear back. :D

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Nursek06

I am a nurse currently (for about 10 years) and am now finishing my pre reqs for med school. Here is what i see as your options:

Option #1:

Finish your BSN and come out as a Nurse. Have the ability to make some good money and get your pre reqs for med school done while you work part time. The pre reqs you will have to do are:
1) Biology I & II with lab (general)
2) Physics I & II with Lab (non-calc)
3) Chem I & II with lab (General)
4) English Comp I & II
5) Organic Chem I & II with lab

Option #2:

Stop where you are in the program now and start taking pre reqs. Regardless of where you are you must basically have an undergrad degree before applying to med school. This option may get you in faster, it may save you a year but at the same time it will be a much harder route and you wont have the backup plan of nursing.

So really it is up to you and it depends on where you are in the BSN program. Moreover, if you finished the BSN route you would already have an undergrad degree, a guarenteed job and as an RN you would get a better appreciation for what Doctors do.