Can I become an MD with a full sleeve of tattoos?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Harry J. Potter

Harry J. Potter
Lifetime Donor
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a prospective medical student that is currently serving in the U.S. military. I am completing my undergraduate degree in biochemistry as I work as a military member. I have a full sleeve of tattoos that do not go below the wrist. I have a double armband on the other arm as well. All my tattoos can be covered with long sleeves. None of my tattoos are on my hands, face, or neck. I am very passionate about becoming a medical doctor but I am concerned about my tattoos. I even went as far as tried getting consultations to get them removed. I know some hospitals have tattoo policies and this worries me.

Thank you,

Dante

Members don't see this ad.

I have talked to a pediatric oncology nurse as well as a emergency room PA, and the nurse told me that visible tattoos in her hospital were frowned upon and you just had to make sure they were covered. The ER PA told me that you see health practitioners with tattoos all the time. I would imagine the consensus on tattoos probably varies by specialty (i.e. ER medicine vs. pediatrics).

As long as you are able to cover them, I wouldn't be worried. Tattoos are still seen as taboo by some, but I think they are starting to become more accepted as time moves on.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,