Can it ever be too much of a good thing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SpoiledMilk

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So unexpected/crazy thing happened. Was summoned for jury duty. Was hoping for a quick dismissal. But was selected (arrgh!).

I think there was only one juror younger than me, and the other 4 were mid-40s and up. During a recess while we waited in the jury room, there was small talk and I was asked what I were I did for a living. I told them my full-time job was getting prepared for medical school in a few months.

Later when we were charged with the case and returned to the jury room, out of no where, the oldest juror (60+) nominated me for foreman. The others unanimously agreed. I was honored, but a bit stunned that after finding out that I was to be a medical student, they chose me to lead the jury deliberations.

I can understand that being a doctor carries a certain prestige in society and it's good to be respected, but being a medical student? Hmmm.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
I wonder if there's some humblebragging going on!

Reactions: 15 users
you’re overthinking it, and you’re fellow jurors must have very low standards

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
So unexpected/crazy thing happened. Was summoned for jury duty. Was hoping for a quick dismissal. But was selected (arrgh!).

I think there was only one juror younger than me, and the other 4 were mid-40s and up. During a recess while we waited in the jury room, there was small talk and I was asked what I were I did for a living. I told them my full-time job was getting prepared for medical school in a few months.