Canadian Applying to US MD- August MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

primaballerina

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I'm a Canadian student thinking of applying to US med schools and not too familliar with the process. I have a lowish cGPA at McGill- 3.6- although in my last two years my average is 3.9 (it was first year that got me).

I'm only considering applying to lower tier MD schools (New York medical college, George Washignton, SUNY Down/upstate) that I know are more Canadian friendly. The issue is that my MCAT date is August 20th meaning that my scores won't come in until the end of Sept. Given this info, I was wondering what your opinions are as to whether or not I should bother applying this late. Canadian schools are my first choice anyways but I really wanted the US as a back up. I don't want to waste the application fees if there's a fair chance I'm wayyyyy too late to get in.

Any help is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Buy the MSAR.
Filter for the fifty odd schools that consider internationals.
Eliminate the ones that matriculated 3 or less.
Eliminate the mission-based schools.
Apply to the ones where the median MCAT for matriculants is at or below yours.
If you have multiple MCAT's use the average for your score.

Bring the list here if you would like edits.

Last edited by a moderator:
Buy the MSAR.
Filter for the fifty odd schools that consider internationals.
Eliminate the ones that matriculated 3 or less.
Eliminate the mission-based schools.
Apply to the ones where the median MCAT for matriculants is at or below yours.
If you have multiple MCAT's use the average for your score.

Bring the list here if you would like edits.