Canadian&US: GPA:3.83 MCAT:30

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chd2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am a Transfer Student (a Medical school abroad...finished less than half of it)... got admission to a Canadian undergrad school and received transfer credit and then studied in Canada (4 Semester including one summer)...
I am now a Fourth year life science student. cGPA: 3.83, sGPA: 3.82 MCAT:32: PS12-VR06-BS14
I'm writing another mcat in September

**** THERE IS A TYPO IN THE TOPIC LINE. MY MCAT IS 32. NOT 30. ****:scared:
Is just one and a half year enough for schools to make their decision about my application ??
do u see Any chances for MD? Do you have any suggestion??

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Most Canadian schools screen out unbalanced verbal scores, so my opinion would be to look to the US. It would obviously benefit you to seek an MCAT retake as the unbalanced VR is a big problem. You might be able to sneak in with a stellar personal statement, but that is on your shoulders. I would apply broadly and quickly if you haven't already... but yeah I think you've got a shot. Though I haven't seen your actual application, but stats wise, yeah you've got a shot.

Members don't see this ad :)
Gr8 !
Thank you... Yea I'm applying broadly... hopefully they can see that I just learned English 2 years ago !
Is there any way to cover this weak point ? Some people say getting a LOE from an English prof helps! Any other ways?
Thanks

Gr8 !
Thank you... Yea I'm applying broadly... hopefully they can see that I just learned English 2 years ago !
Is there any way to cover this weak point ? Some people say getting a LOE from an English prof helps! Any other ways?
Thanks