Career Changers and Decision Making

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPTWannabe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here I am and this is my first post!. I am very happy to have found the SDN! I am a middle aged guy who has been very financially sucessful as a CPA/CFO type for a number of years. I have had a few good years of real job satisfaction and I've also had quite a few years of stress and unhappiness. What I do know is I have been burnt out on accounting and finance for some time and now I find myself laid off as well. I am ready for the re-invention! After spending much time contemplating this I have zeroed in on the Physical Therapy profession. I have given months of thought and research into other options but I just keep coming back to the PT field. I am thinking hard now about making the plunge in the next year or so and proceeding with preparing myself for a DPT program. I have a masters degree in accounting so I would have to start with the undergrad pre-req's and then go from there. So I'm wondering who out there has had a similiar experience with making such a radical change in careers and what was your tipping point for making that decision?! Any advice? I am 48 years old with a working wife and a daughter in her third year of college. This is a big decision for me and at my age I'm about out of do-overs!

Members don't see this ad.