cGPA 3.2, sGPA 3.8, MCAT 33P - Non-Trad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surfca

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I probably need to go running more often to get the nerves down, but I'm a little concerned that my undergrad basically shot me in the foot. I did a Music degree and some grad work before leaving to work for 3 years. Then became intensely interested in medicine and completed a post-bacc with a 3.98 overall GPA. Here are the details:

- cGPA 3.2 undergrad, 3.44 grad
- MCAT Phys 10, Bio 11, Verbal 12, Writing P
- 100 hours of volunteering clinically
- About 25 hours of physician shadowing (geriatrics, rads, peds, internal med); most of this was after interviews but I sent in updated info including a couple of med books I've read or have been reading
- worked for 3 years in Energy sector with lots of leadership and professional experience
- president of frat in undergrad
- 6 LORs - former boss of energy job, O Chem prof, Gen Chem prof, geriatrician shadowed (whom I've known for a few years), Bio prof, former Music prof
- some tutoring for MCAT and O Chem, but nothing official
- resident of South Carolina
- Caucasian male

So far I've received 2 interviews (both on holds now) and 3 rejections. I'm worried I included too many far reach schools since the two holds were considered my safety schools. Everyone I talked to kept reassuring me my undergrad GPA wouldn't be looked at so hard since I clearly got my act together after leaving school for 3 years and coming back. I'm also concerned clinical experience isn't where it should be. Much appreciated for any thoughts!

Members don't see this ad.

I foolishly didn't apply to DO schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ah okay, you must've accidentally marked DO in the title.