MD & DO cGPA 3.50 sGPA 3.62 MCAT 29

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HappyFeet14

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a white male (age 23) applying to both DO and MD schools. I am a CA resident (but parents live in OH). I lived in Las Vegas for 4 years and went to school at UNLV. I recently transfered to San Jose State University in CA to finish my degree (I have been there for a year now).

I would like a kind soul(s) to comment on my competitiveness as a whole, and any direct areas of improvement (I am very aware of my MCAT score). I would also like criticism on my school list, and suggestions of other schools.

MCAT 29 12/7/10 (verbal was obviously my weak point - I will most likely retake if I do not get in somewhere this application cycle)
cGPA 3.50 and sGPA 3.62 - I've have a serious upward trend from my freshman semesters (4.0 for the last 5 semesters).

San Jose State University
Major: Biological science with conc. in Systems Physiology
Minor: Chemistry

ECs:
-Undergrad Teaching Assistant for Biology labs (3 semesters)
-Emergency Department Research Assistant (clinical research) at UMC Hospital in Las Vegas (150+ hours)
-Various medical events through the research program I was affiliated with: attended American Academy of Emergency Medicine Conference, participant in a Wilderness Medicine event with residents, CPR certification training/teaching.
-Physician Shadowing (about 40 hours): ER trauma, Podiatry surgery, Ophthalmology, General Surgery
-Officer for Chemistry Club UNLV (1.5 years); met and coordinated events with local American Chemical Society council.
-About 100+ hours of non-clinical volunteer work through Chemistry Club - shelters, food drives, environmental clean ups, etc.