This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

candylover218

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! Seeking advice from anybody kind / generous enough to help a girl out. I intend to apply to med school this fall, but my science GPA is low, like a 3.19, and I've a 3.48 cumulative (from a pretty good school though,Berkeley). I did a Masters in an ethics program at HarvardMed (3.9). My extracurriculars are pretty good, but no pubs. I intend to pack volunteer hours and publish once this spring.

Should I retake the courses I did REALLY poorly in (physics and biochem) or do a post-bacc (and retake the whole pre-med courseload - I didn't get any A's in physics, chem, ochem, bio, or math; just B-'s, B's or B+'s and a C- for physics2)? I'm taking the MCAT soon, too.

Thank you so much :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Check out Goro’s guide to reinvention. It’s a great guide for what type of classes you should retake/don’t retake.
Thank you! I'll definitely take that into account. Wish Goro could tell me what to do here lol

Members don't see this ad :)
I think C- have to retaken, if they’re required prereqs.

It doesn’t sound like you’re ready to apply. No A’s in any science classes?
I got A's and A-'s in most of my upper div science classes! But none in those pre-reqs :( *with public health / nutrition,toxicology majors

They won’t really look into your school but your GPA, it’s too low for MD schools. Maybe if you do well on the MCAT you can apply DO.

Maybe an SMP will help you. It’s risky though and with a 3.0 science GPA it may be tough for you to perform at the level necessary for success. Make sure to analyze and improve on what you’ve done wrong.

Reactions: 1 user
They won’t really look into your school but your GPA, it’s too low for MD schools. Maybe if you do well on the MCAT you can apply DO.