SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

change of residency question.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by youngjock, Dec 17, 2001.

1. youngjock

youngjock Banned Banned

Jun 13, 2000
    I just found out that I will never be a virginia state resident as long as I am just a student! i will have to work for a year, then become a resident. damn! I thought that I will become one after one year.

I had it all planned out.
    :(

Well, i don't know what to do now! that is my question. should i go back to california, and study there. or move to another state which has high admission rate for its own state residents, etc?

or according to the virginia law, i will have to work for a year, then i can become a resident. :(

I don't know what i should do now.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. choker

choker Senior Member 7+ Year Member

Jul 30, 2001
    nyc
    i must point out that no part of the above statemtent resembles a question.

(-sorry, final in an hour)

4. Mutterkuchen

Mutterkuchen Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Nov 28, 2001
    Omaha
    I have a good friend that moved from Illinois to Iowa, worked for a year and now is in med school at the University of Iowa. It can be done.

It seems to me that California is hyper-competitive. I would move somewhere else that is less competitive. Texas? I have heard that Austin and San Antonio are nice cities.

Plus CA is so darn expensive. You can move back there when you are a rich doctor.

5. locitamd

locitamd Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Dec 1, 2001
    I have a friend at Baylor, he spent one year as an out-of-stater, but bought an apartment and now qualifies for instate tuition. Doesn't help with the admissions process, but does help reduce debt when you're done.

6. j99

j99 Member 7+ Year Member

Jun 27, 2001
    NC